Michigan sex offender registration violation lawyer Paul J. Tafelski (https://www.michigandefenselaw.com/sex-offender-registration-violation.html) releases a new article that explains the process of sex offender registration. The lawyer mentions that Federal law requires that every state maintain a sex offender registry. In 1994, the Violent Crime Control and Law Enforcement Act was passed and the requirement of maintaining a sex offender registry was made into law.

“Each state has the autonomy to determine which convictions require guilty defendants to register as sex offenders and how long registered individuals must remain in the database. In Michigan, individuals convicted of certain sex crimes are required to register with the Michigan Sex Offender Registry under the Sex Offenders Registration Act. Failure to register when required to do so is a felony,” says the Michigan sex offender registration violation lawyer.

Michigan sex offender registration violation lawyer

The lawyer explains that an individual who is convicted of sex crimes would have to register with the state’s Sex Offender Registry. They also need to verify their personal information with the local law enforcement as regularly as they are required to, according to the registration tier.

Attorney Paul Tafelski says that the information that an individual must verify includes their residential address, any address where they will stay for one week or longer, their legal name or any name changes, their vehicle, any other vehicles used, place of employment, all of their email addresses and other online handles, and enrollment or discontinuation of education.

In the article, attorney Tafelski also says that there are penalties for failing to register as a sex offender. These penalties become more severe as the defendant accrues more convictions of this type. For a first offense, the defendant can face up to four years in prison and a fine of up to $2000. A second conviction will be punished by up to seven years in prison and a fine of up to $7000. Lastly, in a third of subsequent convictions, the individual faces up to 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.

According to the defense lawyer, “Additionally, unintentional failure to register is a criminal offense punishable by up to two years in prison and a fine of up to $2,000. Failure to register as a sex offender is not the only sex offender registration violation an individual can be charged with committing.”

Lastly, the lawyer emphasizes the importance of having a skilled lawyer when facing sex offender registration violation charge. An experienced lawyer may be able to help the defendant understand their rights and protect their freedom.

About Michigan Defense Law

Michigan Defense Law is a firm that takes the presumption of innocence very seriously. Every client deserves competent legal representation. No matter if someone is facing a felony or misdemeanor charge, the lawyers at Michigan Defense Law will work hard to vigorously defend the client and achieve the best outcome for them. Call Michigan Defense Law today at (248) 451 2200 to schedule a consultation.

Paul J Tafelski, Michigan Defense Law | Criminal Attorney and DUI Lawyer

2525 S Telegraph Rd suite 100, Bloomfield Hills, MI 48302, United States

(248) 451 2200

###

For more information about Paul J Tafelski, Michigan Defense Law | Criminal Attorney and DUI Lawyer, contact the company here:

Paul J Tafelski, Michigan Defense Law | Criminal Attorney and DUI Lawyer
Paul J. Tafelski
2484512200
2525 S Telegraph Rd suite 100, Bloomfield Hills, MI 48302, United States

FacebookTwitterGoogleDiggRedditLinkedIn

Stock Quotes for Bridgeport

Weather Forecast for Bridgeport

Latest News